Microsoft’s full email message to webOS developers

By Tom Warren, on 22nd Aug 11 4:14 pm with 9 Comments

Microsoft is attempting to round up a number of published webOS developers.

Brandon Watson, Senior Director of Windows Phone 7 development, has sent out over 500 emails to webOS developers who answered his offer of free Windows Phone training and devices. Watson revealed on Monday that he’s nearly at 1,000 emails and counting. Here’s the full message that Watson has been sending to potential Windows Phone developers:

First things first. Thank you so much for reaching out to the Windows Phone team to signal your interest in bringing your talents to our platform. To be honest, we didn’t expect this level of response, so we were caught a bit flatfooted. It took a few days (on the weekend) to pull all the mails together into one place to allow me to respond in a smart way and not retype every mail by hand.  Consider this a first step in building a relationship with the Windows Phone team.  We are psyched to have you aboard and to see what your imagination can do on the Windows Phone canvas.

Getting Started With Windows Phone

First things first.  Thank you so much for reaching out to the Windows Phone team to signal your interest in bringing your talents to our platform.  To be honest, we didn’t expect this level of response, so we were caught a bit flatfooted.  To avoid retyping the same mail over and over again, we spent the extra time to load the mails into our CRM system so we could ensure we were following up with each of you.

Here are some of the common questions we have received: Where do you get the tools?  What is the App Hub?  How do you submit apps?  Where can I get a phone?

We pulled together a set of links to get you going on your path.  You will find that content in a table at the bottom of the mail.  It should get you well on your way, and we have a great community of MVP support, which can be found on the App Hub forums, or on Twitter (#wpdev is the hashtag).

Insofar as training, we have arranged to have a 2 day, live, streamed training event about how to build apps for Windows Phone.  It is coming up this week.

Registration: http://bit.ly/Mango-Jump

It’s important to note that while this will be delivered live and streamed, but that we will also be posting the recorded version of the videos online shortly after the completion of the training event.

Students

If you are a student developer, your best first stop is to contact Ben Lower on our team.  He is spearheading the academic efforts for Windows Phone.  His email is PhoneNinja@microsoft.com and his twitter is @BenLower.

Mobile Champs

Our mobile champs are our developer evangelists in your area.  They are empowered to do whatever it takes to make you successful.  They will have invites to in person Windows Phone training events, access to coding resources, will be able to introduce you to our marketing programs once your apps are in Marketplace, and they have phones and tokens for App Hub accounts (if cost of an account is a hardship).  Here’s the list of champs

Country Mobile Champ & Email
Australia Chris Bright Chris.Bright@microsoft.comDave Glover (DPE MELBOURNE) dglover@microsoft.com
Austria Andreas Schabus Andreas.Schabus@microsoft.comMax Knor Max.Knor@microsoft.com
Belgium Katrien De Graeve Katrien.DeGraeve@microsoft.comDavid Hernie dhernie@microsoft.com
Brazil Silvia Valadares silviav@microsoft.comCaio Chaves Garcez caiog@microsoft.com
Canada Paul Laberge paul.laberge@microsoft.comJoey DeVilla joey.devilla@microsoft.com
Chile Wilson Pais wilson.pais@microsoft.com
China Liwei Zhao liweiz@microsoft.comFelix Yan Felix.Yan@microsoft.comSimon Duan simon.duan@microsoft.com
Czech Republic Filip Rehorik Filip.Rehorik@microsoft.com
Columbia Walter Novoa (Adecco) v-wnovoa@microsoft.comRicardo Marulanda ricardo.marulanda@microsoft.com
Denmark Bjarne Dollerup Bjarne.Dollerup@microsoft.com
Finland Jukka Wallasvaara Jukka.Wallasvaara@microsoft.com
France Antoine Markarian antoinem@microsoft.comPierre Cauchois pierreca@microsoft.comAlex Danvy Alex.Danvy@microsoft.com
Germany Frank Prengel Frank.Prengel@microsoft.comBernhard Carli bernhard.carli@microsoft.com
Greece Gina Tiriakidou ginati@microsoft.com
Hong Kong Andy Cheung (HK DPE) ancheung@microsoft.com
Hungary Zsolt Batorfi zbatorfi@microsoft.com
India Girish C Joshi girishcj@microsoft.com
Indonesia Irving Hutagalung irving.hutagalung@microsoft.com
Ireland Dave Northey daven@microsoft.com
Italy Roberto Cavallini Roberto.Cavallini@microsoft.comLorenzo Barbieri Lorenzo.Barbieri@microsoft.com
Japan Shinobu Takahashi Shinobu.Takahashi@microsoft.comAkira Onishi aonishi@microsoft.com
Korea Jinho Seo jinho.seo@microsoft.comKyoung Yoon Kim kykim@microsoft.com
Malaysia Hoong Fai Lai lai.hoongfai@microsoft.com
Mexico Edgar Omar Aviles Rosas Omar.Aviles@microsoft.com
Netherlands Matthijs Hoekstra Matthijs.Hoekstra@microsoft.com
New Zealand Nigel Parker nigel.parker@microsoft.comMike Zeff mike.zeff@microsoft.com
Norway Petri Tapio Wilhelmsen petwil@microsoft.com
Philippines Zandra Nicolas alnichol@microsoft.com
Poland Bartlomiej Zass Bartlomiej.Zass@microsoft.com
Portugal Nuno Silva Nuno.Silva@microsoft.com
Puerto Rico Yamille Morales ymorales@microsoft.com
Russia Mik Chernomordikov mikcher@microsoft.comVladimir Kolesnikov vladkol@microsoft.com
Singapore Chris Ismael chism@microsoft.com
South Africa Nyaladzi Mpofu nmpofu@microsoft.com
Spain Isabel Gomez Miragaya isabelg@microsoft.comElisa Garcia Anzano elisa.garcia@microsoft.com
Sweden Dag König dagk@microsoft.com
Switzerland Stefano Malle Stefano.Malle@microsoft.comSascha Corti sascha.corti@microsoft.com
Taiwan Eric ShangKuan ericsk@microsoft.com
Thailand Ekaraj Kongswangwongsa ekarajk@microsoft.com
UK William Coleman wcoleman@microsoft.comPaul Foster paulfo@microsoft.comMike Ormond Mike.Ormond@microsoft.com
US Joe Shirey joe.shirey@microsoft.comReza Alizadeh rezaali@microsoft.comChristian Thilmany christhi@microsoft.com

Max Zilberman max.zilberman@microsoft.com

Rob Cameron Rob.Cameron@microsoft.com

Phones

We have phones for developers committed to building apps and games for Windows Phone.  This isn’t a free ride program where we just hand out phones to people because they say they want one.  When you connect with your local champ, you are building a relationship that will hopefully last a long time.

We have current retail phones, and in the coming weeks/months, we will have updated Mango retail hardware phones.  We also have prototype Mango devices (which have the gyros not available on current retail devices), so if you are building an app which requires Mango hardware, you can make an ask of those as well.

Online Resources

Topic What is it? Link
App Hub The central repository for all things Windows Phone for developers.  This is where you will go to create an account, get the tools, submit and manage your apps, participate in forums, etc. http://create.msdn.com
Getting Started Your first stop to get going on dev http://wpdev.ms/startwpdev
Downloads The dev tools – FREE – are here http://wpdev.ms/wpdowns
Registration Some people need a little extra help, and this walkthrough of the developer registration should be useful http://wpdev.ms/regwalk
Submissions A little extra help on the submission process. http://wpdev.ms/subwalk
Certification Requirements OK, your app is done, but will it pass cert?  We aim to give you plenty of visibility into the process and be very transparent on why your apps failed, but please read through this. http://wpdev.ms/certreq
Jump Start A video series sponsored by Channel9, our developer focused online video destination portal. http://wpdev.ms/jumpstarts
Design Day Every developer could probably use a little extra help with their app design.  Here are some great tutorials all about the Metro UI design language for Windows Phone. http://wpdev.ms/designday
Absolute Beginners There’s always the possibility that you are big on ideas, but maybe not so much on dev skills.  That’s OK.  We have a great course which will get you up to speed even if you are an absolute beginner. http://wpdev.ms/beginvids
Mango Hands On Labs If you want to dig a little deeper, but prefer the lab walkthrough format, we have some great labs here for you. http://wpdev.ms/mangohol

Thanks to Brian H for the news tip

  • http://twitter.com/ondraster Ondra Moravek

    That’s the spirit!

  • http://twitter.com/xOmar9x Mario

    Mango phones in the coming WEEKS/Months. This is a good sign :] i hope in the coming weeks the new mango phones come out in the U.S

  • Simon Tang

     Nice copy paste on first couple of paragraphs ;)

  • Jhonny López

    Hey, someone tell him it’s Colombia, not Colubia.

    • Jhonny López

      I mean: Colombia, not Columbia.

    • Jhonny López

      I mean: Colombia, not Columbia.

  • http://weightloss-guides.com/burn-stomach-fat-lead burnstomachfat

    great post and info!

  • Joe05

    “To be honest, we didn’t expect this level of response, so we were caught a bit flatfooted”  if that does not say it all when it comes to MS management real belief for WP7 success… even they are surprise that anyone interested at this point.   

  • Motbit.com

    i;m in Vietnam, not Vietnam in list :(